Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Black Bears
06-23-2017, 04:28 PM (This post was last modified: 06-24-2017 06:05 AM by John Smith.)
Black Bears
I have been hunting in Maine for 47 years. I hunt a lot. Mostly small game, birds, deer and moose. I have never hunted bear and until this morning, I had never seen a bear in the Maine woods. This morning while scouting moose in Washington County, I encountered two large bears from two different areas in one hour's time. The first bear was running towards me as I walked in his direction on an old overgrown and long abandoned woods road. We did not see each other because of vegetation until he ran out of the alders just 5 yards in front of me. We were both startled and he ran off immediately. I continued on my way and returned in about 15 minutes and never saw him again.

About 1 hour later, I was walking into another area miles away and heard some low growling sounds that I didn't know what it was, but assumed it could be a bear. I heard these sounds off and on as I walked in about 3/4 mile. As I started to return I saw this big bear staring at me at about 15 to 20 feet. He was a little more ragged looking than the 1st bear and seems to be sniffing and squinting at me. We stood there looking at each other for what seemed like an uncomfortable long time. After a while, he started to circle me in the cover and I decided to move along out of his way. When I looked back, he had walked to where I had previously been standing and was sniffing for something. I returned to my vehicle and never saw him again.

Previously I had never seen a bear in the Maine woods, but now I have seen two in one hour. It seems to me that it makes more sense to hunt bear this time of year instead of the fall as I understand that black bear mate late spring, but I am not a bear hunter.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-24-2017, 04:20 PM
RE: Black Bears